YOU ARE HERE: Home > Government > NASA

JPL Von Karman Lecture | Space Robotics

Uploaded 10/21/2016

Space Robotics

Original air date: Oct. 20 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 02:00 UTC/GMT)

Asteroid Anchors, Rock Climbing Robots, Gecko Grippers, and Other Ways to Stick in Space

The ability to rove the surface of Mars has revolutionized NASA missions. With more advanced mobility, cliff faces, cave ceilings, and the surfaces of asteroids and comets could be explored. This talk will present the work of the Robotic Rapid Prototyping Lab at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory. This includes grippers for NASA’s Asteroid Redirect Mission, which plans to extract a 15-ton boulder from the surface of an asteroid, and alter the asteroid’s orbit, a method that could prevent future impacts to the Earth. The talk will also present gecko-inspired adhesives currently being tested on the International Space Station, miniaturized robots that can drive across surfaces in zero gravity, and rock climbing robots traversing giant lava tubes in New Mexico. We will discuss not only the projects, but the new tools and techniques (3-D printers, computer-aided-design software, miniature electronics) that allow us to build and iterate robots more quickly than ever before.

Speaker:

Dr. Aaron Parness

Extreme Environment Robotics Group, JPL

Friday, October 21, 2016, 7 p.m.

The Vosloh Forum at Pasadena City College

1570 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA

 

(c)2016 NASA-JPL-Caltech | SCVTV
No Comments for JPL Von Karman Lecture: Space Robotics

Comments are closed.

Newest Uploads

See latest uploads here

SCCF: Prodigal Son Pt 3

%d bloggers like this: